Questions? Call 800-550-4589
west-of-west West of West
<
>

West of West

 
Pets Considered

Just 8 miles from West Yellowstone's entrance to Yellowstone National Park.

Stunning views of Lionhead Mountain and surrounding peaks.

Walk to Forest Service trails or make a short drive to Hebgen Lake and to fishing on area rivers.

The lodge offers wireless Internet access.

This home has a 5 night minimum during the summer season.

BRIEF DESCRIPTION: West of West Lodge is a great base camp for exploring the Yellowstone area. It’s just 8 miles to the park entrance, is surrounded by national forest trails for hiking, mountain biking, and snow mobiling and it’s a short drive to a quiet cove on Hebgen Lake. With 2,400 square feet of living space, an open floor plan on the main level, and an additional family room upstairs, it’s a comfortable home for a large group.

BEDROOMS AND BATHS: The lodge has four bedrooms and three baths. The main level has one bedroom with a queen size bed. There is a full bath with a large walk-in shower adjacent to this bedroom and both are wheel chair accessible. The upper level has three bedrooms, one with a king size bed, one with a queen and the third with two twins. The king bedroom has an en suite full bath with tub/shower combination. The other two bedrooms share a full bath, also with a tub/shower combo. For a bit of extra sleeping space, the upstairs TV room has a fold out queen sofa bed and the there is a queen sofa bed in the living room. All bedrooms have iPod docks.

KITCHEN: This is a great kitchen for a crowd as it opens to the bar, the dining area, and the living room. It’s equipped with all stainless appliances, a smooth top electric range, tons of serving and picnic ware, and lots of small appliance extras like a crock pot, electric mixer and blender.

DINING AREA: The large dining table seats ten comfortably and the bar accommodates another three. There’s also plenty of seating for enjoying outdoor meals out on the covered porch.

LIVING ROOM: The cozy living room has a gas fireplace, a flat screen HD TV with satellite service, an iPod dock and comfy leather seating. Double French doors open to the covered porch with additional seating for cocktail hour!

FAMILY ROOM: The upper level has a family room where your crew can do puzzles, play games or watch TV and movies after a day of exploring.

SETTING, ACREAGE, AND VIEWS: West of West Lodge is in a woodsy vacation home neighborhood about 8 miles from West Yellowstone, which is the West entrance to Yellowstone National Park. It sits on one half acre and enjoys incredible views of Lionhead Mountain and other peaks along the Continental Divide. You’re likely to see elk, moose and maybe even a bear in this beautiful wild area!

OUTDOOR AMENITIES: Decks on three sides of the house provide room for enjoying coffee in the morning sunshine and then sunset over the mountains. Once a little lawn area grows in, you can host a Rocky Mountain rough terrain bocce ball tournament off the South deck.

CLOSEST TOWN AND AIRPORT: You are 8 miles from the town of West Yellowstone, 90 miles from Bozeman’s Gallatin Field Airport and 110 miles from Idaho Falls, Idaho.

ACTIVITIES NEARBY: In winter, you can snowmobile right from the house and get onto hundreds of miles of groomed snowmobile trails. If you prefer Nordic skiing, West Yellowstone’s Rendezvous Trails are a short drive away and you can explore Yellowstone Park by snowcoach. In summer, there’s hiking and mountain biking right out the door, fishing on blue ribbon streams, boating on Hebgen Lake and of course – day trips into Yellowstone Park.

Special for Mountain Home guests: $50 credit towards a Yellowstone Park tour! For the very best experience in Yellowstone, book a private tour with our other service, Greater Yellowstone Guides. Our incredible guides have each been exploring and guiding in the region for over 20 years, so it promises to be a very special day. All Mountain Home guests get a discount on our Deluxe Tour cost using coupon code MH50GYG. Call us to book both your lodging and a Yellowstone adventure!

**Rates below are for seven night stays. Reservations for as short as 3 nights are accepted at most homes. You can use the chart at the upper left to get a quote for your desired dates, or we invite you to call us at 800-550-4589 to visit with one of our reservationists.

  Weekly Monthly
October 08 - November 18, 2017 $2,050 -
November 19 - November 26, 2017 $3,250 -
November 27 - December 20, 2017 $2,050 -
December 21 - January 06, 2018 $3,250 -
January 07 - May 12, 2018 $2,050 $8,621
May 13 - June 09, 2018 $3,250 -
June 10 - September 08, 2018 $3,950 $16,764
September 09 - October 06, 2018 $3,250 -
October 07 - November 16, 2018 $2,050 $8,621
  • Bedrooms: 4
    Bathrooms: 3
    Sleeps: 8
    Sleeping Arrangements: 1 King, 2 Queen, 2 Twin, 2 Sofa Bed
    Square Footage: 2400
    15 min to Yellowstone Park
    Ceiling Fans
    Close to Town
    Coffee Maker
    Deck
    Dishwasher
    DVD Player
    Free Long distance
    Full Kitchen
    Gas Fireplace
    Gas Grill
    Hair Dryer
    High Chair
  • Internet
    Ipod docking station
    Ironing Board
    Less than 15 minutes to town
    Linens
    Long-term Renters Welcome
    Microwave
    No Air Conditioning
    On 1-5 acres
    Pack 'N' Play
    Parking
    Pets considered
    Phone
    Picnic Table
    Satellite TV
    Spotty cell service
    VCR
    Washer & Dryer
Name is required
Email is required
Check In Date
Rating is required
Title is required
Review is required

Thank you for entering your review. The review will become available to the system shortly.

22 22

Overall Rating:

4.9545 4.9545
West of West stay
Rating:
1 5 5
Review Date: 01/23/2017
MichaelandHeath... G
Such a wonderful stay! TONS of snow! Beautiful home, and so close to West Yellowstone. Thank you for a wonderful vacation.
Such a beautiful place to stay.
Rating:
1 5 5
Review Date: 01/07/2017
Michael G
Such a beautiful place to stay. We traveled with our best friends and neighbors and their little girl who is 3. We brought our 4 year old lab, Raider and our 15 moth old daughter. We had such a special time playing in the snow and exploring Yellowstone. The house was the perfect home base and super comfy for our crowd. Thanks so much! Can't wait to come back☺️
Best rental of my experience
Rating:
1 5 5
Review Date: 11/25/2016
Amy S.
Lovely home with excellent amenities. The best rental experience I've had - home came with so many extras that we were not expecting. Great selection of cookware and pantry basics.
Amazing Vacation Home
Rating:
1 5 5
Review Date: 06/21/2016
Darkwing_Duck
What a beautiful home! Took the family here for our Yellowstone vacation and could not be happier with Mountain Home. The house was clean, it had everything a family would need for a week-long stay... TVs, games, books, everything you need to cook your own meals, etc. The location is perfect, just a few miles from West Yellowstone so just a quick drive to the park every day. Very happy with our stay.
Spring Break Snowmobiling Trip
Rating:
1 5 5
Review Date: 04/18/2016
Jim K.
Wonderful home with everything you could possibly need. Well-equipped, comfortable beds, quiet neighborhood with easy access to snowmobiling trails. Just a few minutes from West Yellowstone where you can find pretty much everything you need. Loved the gas fireplace to warm up at the end of the day. GREAT mud room for snowmobiling gear. Kitchen opens up to dining area and living room so everyone can stay connected. Nice master suite tucked away upstairs in the corner so it's private. Would highly recommend!
Snowmobile group weekend
Rating:
1 5 5
Review Date: 03/11/2016
Craig K.
We were a group of three couples meeting to enjoy snowmobiling in West Yellowstone, MT. The house was perfect for our gathering! The kitchen was fully stocked including pots and pans, dishes, glasses, and everything we needed to enjoy our time together. We cooked a huge breakfast in the morning before snowmobiling and enjoyed the warm fireplace when we got back late that evening. Everyone commented on how comfortable their beds were. The bathrooms were all first class. Don't miss this spot, it is beautiful!
Fantastic location!
Rating:
1 5 5
Review Date: 10/13/2015
Diesel_Travel
The reservation process was painless and you even get an app to help you with everything you need. We flew into Salt Lake City and drove through Grand Teton and Yellowstone parks to get to the cabin, it took some 7 hours due to the constant stop to check the amazing views. Finding the cabin in the dark can be a little tricky... but the directions provided were great. The cabin is well stocked with spices and appliances, everything was spotless clean, maybe the only thing to mention was that one of the bed wasn't made, it had the sheet on the top of it, but not an issue at all. The location is great to explore Yellowstone, if you want to maximize your visit. After an all day trekking in the park we could head home, stopping at the market for some steaks and grill on the nice Webber bbq they have there. We were very satisfied with the cabin and would love to go back in the winter.
Great Yellowstone Location
Rating:
1 4 5
Review Date: 10/04/2015
Mary Anne H
Overall, this was a great house for our large group. Lots of space and comfortable amenities. Had problems with the TV not working and that took a few days to resolve. I was disappointed by the leasing company's response to this problem. Their first response was that it had been working for the previous renters, as if implying we had done something to break it. I don't know about that. We went to turn it on and it wasn't working. We had hoped to watch some of the football games on Sunday and Monday evenings and that wasn't possible. We also lost internet quite often. We were not compensated for these inconveniences although I had asked Lisa for an adjustment. This was disappointing as was the slow response to resolve (we finally got TV on Wednesday). The kitchen is very well stocked. The laundry was very helpful to have and the beds were comfortable. One improvement would be better lighting. Although the house was stocked with a great variety of books to read, there was very little direct reading light in the main room, just 2 dim lamps and overhead spots. This was a great house for an adult group. Tended to be a little noisy with the openness and hardwood floors which might be more problematic with children. Also, a very nice outdoor space other than the numerous bees on the deck.
Wonderful vacation rental
Rating:
1 5 5
Review Date: 07/21/2015
FlaLaura
The cabin was just as advertised. Plenty of room for 6 adults and two teenagers. The kitchen was well stocked with dishes and spices. There are even travel coffee mugs--handy for early morning rides! Very clean. Nice to have a washer and dryer. We enjoyed birdwatching from the large porch. Only minutes from the town of West Yellowstone and the entrance to the National Park.
The best place to stay when visiting Yellowstone National Park
Rating:
1 5 5
Review Date: 06/20/2015
Hotel_Lady
This cabin is ideally located to stay in while visiting Yellowstone National Park - using the West Yellowstone entrance. With 4 bedrooms and 3 full bathrooms it was more than enough space for use (husband, wife and granddaughter). Our 5 1/2 year old granddaughter loved the play area and she was able to build Lego creations while we rested after a long day on the park. We have visited Yellowstone several times and this is the first time we found this location. Arguably the best of the best! We loved it! (note that the dirt road to get there is a little bumpy - but other than that a huge fan.
Snowmobile group stay
Rating:
1 5 5
Review Date: 01/13/2015
Anita D.
This home was such a wonderful winter retreat to enjoy some fun snowmobiling. We were a group of five and were all impressed with this lovely home and its location. We were able to park a five place snowmobile trailer and two vehicles with no issues. Inside this home was a perfect balance of rustic meets modern. It is also a very nicely furnished and clean home. After a day of riding we would come home and remove our gear in the tiled mud room and then enter the warmth of the main living area with the gas fireplace a welcome sight for our cold and tired bodies. Heading into the kitchen you will find ample working space to prepare your meals. Everything we needed was there and ready for our use, right down to the crock-pot for homemade chili and the mixer for making the mashed potatoes. The views from this home face lionhead mountain and make for some nice photo opportunities as the light changes. The beds were very comfortable and if you are into reading a book before retiring for the evening, there has got to be hundreds of books to select from for your enjoyment. Overall, we had a fantastic stay. Communication with the property manager was excellent. Internet worked well. I would certainly come back again and would most definitely recommend staying here if your plans bring you this way. P.S. We took a video of a moose from the side porch as it casually walked by. Great memories!
Felt like home away from home....
Rating:
1 5 5
Review Date: 09/26/2014
marleybriska
West of West surpassed our expectations. It was a wonderful place to unwind in comfort after our long days in Yellowstone. The well appointed kitchen made us actually look forward to cooking our meals each day. The house was very comfortable, clean, spacious and beautifully decorated. We were a party of two, but noted how perfect it would be if we came back with a larger group. We really enjoyed our stay and would definitely come back. Highly recommend!
Best Trip To Yellowstone EVER!
Rating:
1 5 5
Review Date: 07/13/2014
A FlipKey verified reviewer
We found this house through VRBO. The booking was very easy and straight forward. The house was exceptional! Well appointed, comfortable, easy access. The kitchen was to die for - if you like to cook, look no further. The linens were top quality. We truly felt like we had been given access to someone else's home for the week because everything was as nice, if not nicer, than home. While it wasn't my first trip, it was my family's and they loved it. Being able to come back to something other than a hotel room was so nice. I'll never stay at a park lodge again! It was so nice, that while we don't snowmobile, we may just have to come back out and rent some and learn so we can stay here again.
Well laid-out house, well-furnished, nice location
Rating:
1 5 5
Review Date: 07/13/2014
Bud H
Had no trouble renting and staying, excellent guidelines from the rental company---hassle-free. Very well stocked with all the amenities needed to make the stay enjoyable.
Great place for R & R after fun filled days in Yellowstone, Tetons, & Island Park, Idaho
Rating:
1 5 5
Review Date: 06/21/2014
Tina Y
Booking was extremely easy. The girls at the office were extremely helpful. I loved the email updates with important information about your stay as your trip got closer...definitely write or print the info though because the wi-fi is not very good. That being said this was the best house we've rented: the lay out was perfect for us to include grandparents, it was easy to get to (once we found it...print out directions), very clean & nicely decorated, and the kitchen was well stocked. It is a drive to some of the further points in Yellowstone, but it worked for us. Thinking of bringing my mom back here next year! A fire put outside like the surrounding neighbors would be an awesome addition though.
Great place for a family to stay when visiting Yellowstone.
Rating:
1 5 5
Review Date: 05/31/2014
Auburnendo
Family of eight stayed for three nights while visiting YNP. Plenty of room to spread out. Convenient to the park-only eight miles from the West gate. We picked up groceries in West Yellowstone for breakfast at the house and lunches in the park. The house was well furnished and new. Only complaint was a lack of hot water for showers for eight people but that was managed by spreading them out. Overall, a good experience.
Spacious Comfort
Rating:
1 5 5
Review Date: 01/22/2014
Russ
Our ninth annual XC ski weekend in West Yellowstone was the most comfortable yet with four couples staying at West of West. We all were pleasantly surprised by how comfortable the entire house was, how nice the linens and bedding was, and how well out-fitted the kitchen was. Although we initially were concerned about being too far from town, it was a very easy short drive to the Rendezvous Trails, restaurants in West, and shops. The setting was attractive, peaceful, and I think every star in the sky was visible at night. We couldn't be more pleased with our stay.
The Perfect Place
Rating:
1 5 5
Review Date: 01/07/2014
J Boeck
We are from Nebraska and we stayed here for 4 nights for a family snowmobile trip, with my wife's parents and our two adult married children their spouses and our 9 month old grandson 9 of us total. This place surpassed our expectaions, we are a snowmobiling family and it was so nice to get right on the trails each morning less than a block away. It was the perfect amount of room and the house is beautilly decortated and comfortable. It is every bit as nice as the pictures online, thank you to the owners for letting us share your place it was the perfect place. We definatly will come back.
Yellowstone adventure
Rating:
1 5 5
Review Date: 09/23/2013
1st trip to Yellowstone
We loved this house. It has everything a family could ask for, especially if you have small children. There was a train set, lincoln logs, large leggo toys, every Disney movie plus more. It was very convenient to Yellowstone National Park, and West Yellowstone. The ladies at Mountain Home were very helpful and friendly. I feel like they went out of their way to make us comfortable. I highly recommend it. The only negative was the acoustics in the house. It was pretty loud with 6 adults and 2 small children. The house itself was beautiful and was very well made. There was separate heating in all the rooms and even though it got pretty cold ouside the house was always warm and cosy.
Wonderful home
Rating:
1 5 5
Review Date: 07/21/2013
Rick Hughes
We loved our stay! The house is well designed, well equipped and appointed, well kept and well stocked! We like to cook and loved the spacious kitchen and grill, with ample high quality cooking tools. The rooms are large and airy, and the kids were happy to find plenty of places to curl up in chairs and couches while the adults enjoyed sitting on the deck or around the big table. We loved to be slightly out of the center of W. Yellowstone town, and the house was just the right distance away for us - convenient to town and the park gate, but quiet and serene. Suzy was more than helpful, and also connected us to Greater Yellowstone Guides for a couple of days' expert guiding in the park.
Manager Response: 07/20/2013
Wow, thank you Rick for your nice review of your time at West of West. We're thrilled that your family had such a nice stay at the home and that you enjoyed your tour days with Greater Yellowstone Guides. We hope that you'll visit us again someday, at this or one of the other homes that we manage.

Best - Suzy Hall
Owner, Mountain Home - Montana Vacation Rentals
Manager, Greater Yellowstone Guides
www.mountain-home.com
www.greateryellowstoneguides.com
This property is just terrific!
Rating:
1 5 5
Review Date: 02/27/2013
A FlipKey verified reviewer
This 4 bedroom, 3 bath home is beautifully appointed, there is nothing you need to bring besides your personal stuff. It is modern, large, exceptionally clean and comfortable, and easily holds 12 people. Our group has been there 3 times for a long snowmobiling weekend and the setting is perfect for that - you can get to miles and miles of sledding trails plus hundreds of acres of playing fields - all from the front door of this house. Our service there has always been perfect but there was one glitch this time. The walkway to the house was not cleared when we arrived and we had to shovel about 3 feet of snow off the walkway. The person responsible for this work had the wrong date of arrival for us, and he apologized profusely - really, this was just a small mistake. We plan to continue to go to this property because it is so nice.
Absolutly beautiful cabin for a winter Yellowstone vacation!
Rating:
1 5 5
Review Date: 01/11/2013
A FlipKey verified reviewer
Our family loved this amazing home/ cabin! It is spacious and cozy and the kitchen had all the things we needed for cooking every night. The only thing missing is a hot tub for soakings in after a long day in the snow.

Need more information? Have questions? We’d love to hear from you!

Name is required
Email is required
Home Phone is required

Your request has been sent We'll take a little time to review your preferences and get back to you with some thoughtfully selected options - ones that will make you wish you were headed to Montana tomorrow.

We’ll talk soon! – The Mountain Home crew